Be Intentional: Three Actions Every Team Leader Should Take

Raymond D. White
6 min readJun 23, 2021

Do you want to be an intentional leader?

Part of my leadership philosophy is to be intentional with everything I do. My goal is to be present as a leader, show up physically and mentally, and put forth action that truly brings value to those that I am serving.

Being an intentional leader helps you build credibility, seen as reliable and trustworthy. I want my name to align with those traits as a leader and a person within everything I do.

What I want to do is share a few thoughts that prepare me to be intentionally present with my leadership. I recently did a video on this subject titled “Be Intentional.” I’ll dive deeper into that concept in this article, but I would love for you to check out the video below and let me know your thoughts!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRm0w51ZJvw&list=PLsqjsf7VfzkqqdxnK2c6svIr1gA2PgTXZ&index=3

Before we dive into actions around being an intentional leader, I want to call out a reality that we could face in our leadership.

Being an intentional practitioner can be hard.

Why? Our focus could solely be on the work, not the staff. By being caught up with accomplishing a task, we miss the people involved with the work. This perspective risks seeing others as a…

--

--

Raymond D. White

I collaborate with leaders to integrate DEI into their people & culture strategies. Need help developing a belonging team culture? Let’s chat!